Share Your World: 2015 – Week 31

It’s been quite a while since I joined in with Share Your World, so here goes:-

Would you rather take pictures or be in pictures?

Take pictures, definitely – but I’m trying to learn to be a bit more easy-going about being photographed, because I need to learn to accept myself as I am, whether I like it or not. I even posted a self-portrait last week, which I’m really pleased about – pleased that I posted it, I mean, not necessarily pleased with how I look in it.

Where do you like to vacation?

My family live in the North of Scotland, my husband’s in Louisiana’s Deep South, and we live together in London, so one way or another our holidays are mainly spent visiting family. But when we do occasionally get away for a few days here and there, we either like to take a city break in Brussels or Paris, because taking the Eurostar is so easy, or visit Brighton on the South Coast, because we love spending time by the sea.

If you had to describe your day as a traffic sign, what would it be?

sign-post-no-entryHmmm… I frequently feel like this particular set of traffic signs I pass every day on my way to work represent the story of my life – they tell me no entry straight ahead (even though that’s the way that makes most sense to me), because the rules say I have to go this way instead, following the rest of the crowd, fitting in with the recognised system, basically doing what I am told and not making a fuss… sigh!

List at least five favourite first names?

Actually I find this question surprisingly difficult, because you’d think I’d go straight away for the names of my children – although to be fair, because both parents (where applicable) tend to have a say in naming a child, the final choice of name for each baby is often a compromise in that it is a name you both like, but not necessarily a favourite of either. Anyway, personally I’ve always liked Rachel, Ruby, Rose, Elinor, and Erin for girls, and Noah, Marcus, Finn, Joshua and Ewan for boys.

What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m historically good at avoiding this same bonus question every week, because much of what I’m grateful for or looking forward to revolves around family-centred issues, which I tend to keep away from discussing on such a public blog.

But right now I’m very grateful for the continued progress of my youngest daughter’s third pregnancy, now nearing full-term but not without a few complications along the way, and so am looking forward hopefully to the safe delivery of my fifth beloved grandchild at some point in the not-too-distant future… πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Share Your World: 2015 – Week 31

  1. So when do we (or did we) get the post comparing Northern Scotland to Louisiana? ‘cuz I’m thinking there are probably some similarities and a bunch of differences there πŸ™‚

    Like

    • In the broadest sense, I tend to find that family is family, with the same kind of underlying ‘can’t live-with-them, can’t-live-without-them’ dynamics going on whatever part of the world they’re based in – but I might just write generally about the similarities and differences between the two cultures, that would definitely keep me posting for a good long while… πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was going for culture over people. I’m familiar with the south, but I understand that Louisiana isn’t really the same as “the south” and I’ve heard stories about Scotland, so…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I wish I could re-name Matthew; I love the name, but his last name is very generic that I would have liked to have done something else now that I look back on it πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

