21 Things That Make Me Happy…

Suzie from Suzie81speaks has today posted a list of 21 things that make her happy – what a lovely idea, so I thought I’d do the same.

As ever I’ve got a lot going on in my life right now, some good, some bad, some big, some small, including several ongoing complicated issues not easily resolved.

But whatever else is going on in life I realise there are always things to be thankful for, so here is my list of 21 things that make me happy, spilled out onto the page in the weird and wonderful order they came to me…

1. To be alive… I’ve suffered from depression on and off throughout my life, but having survived an overdose at the age of 24, I can honestly say I’m just glad to be alive, to feel everything there is to feel, to embrace it all and remember how lucky I am to still be here…

2. To have a family to love, who love me too… we’ve had our ups and downs over the years, but I’d still far rather have my family than not…

3. To have good friends… friends are different from family, but equally as important. Of course, the best people can count as both, with one foot in each camp…

4. To be married to my best friend… even though we’ll only be celebrating our third wedding anniversary this year, we’ve been together as a couple for 15 years, and friends for 42 (since I was 10 and he was 12)…

5. To be growing older… sometimes I look in the mirror and feel old in a bad way, with my saggy flesh and greying hair and wrinkling skin and hooded eyes. But then I think of friends and family who died so much younger than expected, and I remember that growing old is a privilege denied to many…

6. To still have all five senses… to be able see, hear, smell, touch, taste life and all it has to offer – because I’ve always had them I can sometimes take them for granted, so it’s good to remind myself of that from time to time…

7. Hugs… it’s probably the one thing you can’t give yourself, a hug, which to me makes them so much more special…

8. Reading… a love of words has always been a large part of my life, I inhale the words of others as naturally as breathing…

9. Writing… to be able to express myself clearly helps me understand myself better, lets me exhale my own thoughts out into the world…

10. Photography… I love making photographs as well as taking them, expressing myself in images as well as words…

11. Blogging… my blog is my own space to be me, and I love it…

12. Cooking… cooking for me is a kind of alchemy, taking the individual elements – ingredients – and turning them into compounds of something else. And I also enjoy the comforting repetition of chopping, whisking, sieving, or whatever the particular action may be…

13. Chocolate… I eat way too much of it, but I do love it…

14. Walking… there’s just something about consciously putting one foot in front of the other and moving myself along under my own steam that just never fails to lift my spirits…

15. Trees… particularly old trees. I love their age, and the fact that they grow from the inside out so that the tree surface you touch has been there throughout its entire history – it makes me wonder who else has touched that same spot over the years…

16. The beauty of nature… it’s just breath-taking, and I never tire of looking at it, photographing it, walking in it, just being in it…

17. Beaches… liminal spaces draw me in, those thresholds that are neither fully one thing nor the other – beaches are neither land nor sea but are also both all at the same time, and I find them magical spaces…

18. The smell of sea air… perhaps because I grew up on the coast (and being a small island we have a lot of coast here in the UK) I just love the blustery ozone smell of sea air…

19. The smell of babies heads… it maybe sounds weird, but most parents I know agree with me on this one…

20. Human reproduction… not just the sex part – although that makes me happy too – but the physical growing inside you and pushing out of a new human being that is half you and half somebody else is just an amazing feat of nature…

21. Curiosity… I was going to write learning, as I like to know new stuff about lots of things, but I realise that behind my insatiable desire to learn is the curiosity that makes me want to find out about new things in the first place… 🙂

10 thoughts on “21 Things That Make Me Happy…

  1. Love your list. I feel an affinity with #14 Walking in this moment. I recently injured my knee and really miss my photo adventures into nature. I’ll never take walking without pain for granted again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A really thoughtful list with a few surprises for me …

    #5 was an AHA moment. How very true that is – we are privileged and should wear our age with pride rather than shame or disappointment.

    #7 – also very true … and I love hugs.

    #17 – you just expanded my vocabulary today. I’d never heard of liminal spaces before and now I have this wonderful word to use for places of transition.
    I love the concept of transition … maybe that’s why shorelines appeal to me too.

    Like

    • Thanks Joanne – cultural rites of passage for coming of age (for example) can be considered as liminal spaces too, at the point of transition when having entered the ritual process you’re no longer considered a child, but until you come out the other end you’re not yet deemed to be an adult – so it doesn’t have to be a physical space 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

