Image

TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge: Photograph

farming-family-historyMemories live on

Captured on fragile paper

Fading as years pass

There’s a box of faded family photographs in my parent’s home that I love to look through. This particular image shows my paternal grandfather and great-grandfather working their Aberdeenshire farm some time during the mid 1930s, probably just before my dad was born. I recognise the scene from my childhood – the field, the landscape; the sea, the cliff-tops, the viaduct on the left, and the village on the right, where my mum’s family later lived. And even I can still remember seeing the old steam-trains in the distance with their tell-tale billowing trail, but only just… πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge: Photograph

  1. What a wonderful story and the haiku is a lovely reflection on the photograph theme! Thanks so much for participating in the Household Haiku Challenge! Best wishes! TJ

    Like

Leave a Reply

