Righty-Tighty, Lefty-Loosey

I was attempting to unscrew something at work yesterday when a particularly recalcitrant screw became stuck, turning neither one way nor the other. After working the screw-head only the tiniest fraction in either direction for several minutes trying to ease it loose, I realised I no longer had any idea exactly which way I was supposed to be turning it anyway. A colleague helpfully reminded me ‘Righty-tighty, lefty-loosey’ and sure enough, with a bit more pressure in the right direction out it came…

I love all these silly little phrases and mnemonics we use all the time to remind us of things – the order of colours in a rainbow spring to mind with ‘Richard Of York Gains Battles In Vain’ for remembering ‘Red Orange Yellow Green Blue Indigo Violet’ or ‘Every Good Boy Deserves Favour’ for remembering the notes on the lines of an octave. I’m sure there are countless others I’m just not thinking of at the moment… what are some of your favourite memory-joggers? 🙂

5 thoughts on “Righty-Tighty, Lefty-Loosey

  1. My favorite from long ago is for the order of mathematical operations.

    Given the answers I see on all of the Facebook “99% of people will get this wrong” math problems that look like 1+1+1+1+1+1*0+1+1… Most people don’t remember these.

    Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally

    Parentheses (and other symbols of inclusion);
    Exponents;
    Multiplication and Division, in order from left to right;
    Addition and Subtraction, in order from left to right.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG Dan mathematics and I have always had a somewhat difficult relationship so I’d have found this one so helpful in my earlier years – thank you so much for sharing! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

