K is for Knowledge…

books

‘Knowledge is of no value unless you put it into practice’ – Anton Chekhov

I’m at the point in my photographic journey where I want to know both how to create motion blur deliberately, whether at night or during daylight, and also how to prevent motion blur when I want a clear, sharp image in low light. So learning how to handle motion blur is obviously the next incremental step on my photography learning curve… and theoretically, I’m already pretty much there.

But practically, what I really want to know is how to do this in a way that I find emotionally comfortable. The trouble is, all the ‘how-to’ guidance I find advises the use of a tripod in order to allow for the slow shutter speeds necessary to create this type of shot, and I’m really uncomfortable with that idea. A tripod feels just too static, too clumsy for me… It takes a relatively portable camera and makes a big look-at-me song-and-dance out of it, and as someone who’s still getting used to the idea of myself with a camera up to my eye in public, I’m not sure that I’m up to overcoming that particular barrier to getting the perfect image yet?

It’s a pretty big stumbling block, but deep down I know that somehow I’ll find some kind of a practical work-around, because where there’s a will, there’s a way – and I also know that once I’ve got the hang of it, I’ll be fine to go out and just do it, whatever it takes! 🙂

6 thoughts on “K is for Knowledge…

  1. This happens in all profesion, although some things have always been done in a certain way, it may not suit us, so we need to explore other options. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll find a way around it in the end, and you’d experience will help others:)

    Like

  2. I have found many good alternatives to tripods, mainly because I forgot to bring one. Setting the camera on a wall, a bridge railing, leaning it against a tree all work and all feel a bit more spontaneous and free. I have also used a tripod and I do like the certainty of the setup. My current point and shoot camera has a “handheld twilight” setting that I do like. It fires the shutter several times in rapid succession and merges the photos. I know, it’s somewhat of a trick, but I have taken a few photos I like using that setting. Good luck with your exploration. Be sure to let us see the results.

    Like

    • I’m looking forward to giving it a go, and will definitely share (the best of) the resulting images, however they turn out… and thanks for the advice and encouragement, I’m finding it really helpful to use this A-Z challenge to push myself creatively! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

