Image

J is for Judgement…

‘Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst’ – Henri Cartier-Bresson

There are so many questions running through my head when I think about taking a photograph. Why am I taking this particular shot of this particular subject? What do I want the image to say – what is the story? Where is the best position to shoot from – close in or further away? Which angle works best? Where is the main light source coming from? What about camera settings – shallow or full depth of field? What should I keep in and keep out of shot? How best should I frame it? What do I need to watch out for – annoying background distractions can so easily spoil an otherwise lovely shot – and it never ceases to amaze me how moving just a few feet this way or that before pressing the shutter can sometimes make all the difference to the final image…

Looking up into the Spanish moss hanging from an old oak tree in Southern Louisiana, I loved the way the light caught on the ragged fronds reaching down towards me – it seemed much more dynamic a shot than taking the whole tree front-on…spanish-moss

And for some reason I just loved the stark simplicity of these silhouetted drill bits sitting so proudly on the dusty window-sill – to me they speak of the quiet dignity of craftsmanship past…silhouetted-drill-bits

6 thoughts on “J is for Judgement…

Leave a Reply

