Image

I is for Inspiration…

“Time runs and flows and only our death can stop it. The photograph is a guillotine blade that seizes one dazzling instant in eternity.” – Henri Cartier-Bresson

Who or what inspires me? Well, ironically the photographer that inspires me most, Henri Cartier-Bresson, is known for his gritty yet gripping reportage-style street photography, telling everyday artistic ‘of-his-time’ stories as seen through his camera lens. The irony of this inspiration comes through me feeling thoroughly uncomfortable with the intimacy involved in catching people at unguarded moments in public, so in general I tend to shy away from it, much as I crave trying it out for myself. His sense of creativity speaks to me – I do wonder if I simply feel fascinated by what I find most mysterious and decidedly outside of my comfort zone?

But other than the ongoing allure of capturing everyday people going about their everyday business, and having the patience and instinct to simply wait for just the right moment to release the shutter and put them in the frame (or not, as the case may be), it is nature that inspires me most in life as well as in photography. So for now I make do with a lot of images of flowers and trees and landscapes, and look forward to each changing season with anticipation… 🙂

pink-flower-in-bushspring-blossom

Spring in London, ripe and luscious and full of promise…

4 thoughts on “I is for Inspiration…

  1. What lovely photography – it’s almost possible to smell the blossoms’ fragrance. I love it that you are most comfortable with florals and landscapes, but are inspired by gritty, crisp snapshots of humanity.
    I like to photograph seasonal beauty, but I also enjoy capturing those quick moments when people are simply raw and unguarded and authentic.
    Thank you for this great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

