Gallery

C is for Composition, and Confidence…

As my photographic confidence improves, I’m far more comfortable being seen in public with a camera slung around my neck. For the longest time I was just far too self-conscious, felt too conspicuous, and as a result would fumble and rush taking my pictures, rarely taking the time to think about composing my shots properly. My images would never turn out as good as I would have liked so I would feel like a fraud, and afterwards would feel even more self-conscious about (as I saw it) ‘pretending’ to be a ‘proper’ photographer when the results were so decidedly mediocre.

But as my confidence is increasing, slowly but surely, I’m feeling (relatively) more comfortable wearing my camera as an everyday accessory so take more time with my composition, and as I’m seeing a positive difference in my images I’m feeling even more confident, which feels good. I’m still not great, but I’m getting there. There are always those times of course when the only option is to grab my camera and shoot whatever-it-is as it comes or risk losing the shot, but otherwise I’m becoming a lot better at thinking first about framing, vastly reducing the need for cropping later.

In general I tend to like the main subject either to completely fill the frame…boats-on-pond

or be offset in the frame (sticking roughly to the rule of thirds)…poppy

although on occasion I think sitting something dead centre works too… 🙂 fountain-regents-park

9 thoughts on “C is for Composition, and Confidence…

  1. You SHOULD feel this confident. Your stuff is GOOD. Specifically today, I love that you feel as though you are part of that congregation of boats. Because of your composition. You are ON the boat (whether or not you were when you took it). And the physical stretch you feel in the second photograph as those pre-born blossoms reach for their own space… and the perfection of the third shot (beautiful), then offset by the visitng bird, who naturally doesn’t need to center himself on the perfect picture, makes it come aive. Nice choices, all. Keep it up…. Seriously.

    Like

  2. Like you, I’m getting more confidence in the composition of my photos, but I never think of filling the frame as an option. I should – the effect on your photo of the boats is quite striking.

    Like

    • That’s a trick I’ve learned living here in London – whatever you try to take a pic of, there’s usually a ton of extraneous stuff in shot too – but cropping in really tight, even deliberately chopping off the edges of the subject, can be quite effective at times 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

