Weekly Writing Challenge: Countdown

The older I get, the more I find myself turning into the kind of irritating, opinionated, grumpy old woman I used to find so amusingly frustrating in my youth.

So here is a tongue-in-cheek ode to my own maturing grumpiness, along with a reverse alphabetical countdown of my top three modern life irritations at present, all written in haiku ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Grumpy old womanโ€ฆ

Grumbles through each day,

Highlights fault in everything,

Finds joy in judgement.

 

Cold-calling…

Igniting my wrath,

Cold calls freeze my good nature,

Forge icy response.

 

Background noiseโ€ฆ

Incessant chatter,

A constant cacophony,

Assaults me daily.

 

All-pervasive capitalism…

Model citizens,

Buy more than you can consume,

Capitalise waste.

 

Weekly Writing Challenge: Countdown

8 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Countdown

  1. Fun post! I can definitely relate as I feel myself turning into a grumpy old woman too. My haikus would have to involve superficiality and youthful arrogance, as those are two of my biggest peeves lately.

    Like

  2. Most excellent and creative. Love the chilly metaphors in “cold-calling.” And, interestingly, you’ve got some hard “c” alliteration in the last three haiku! Cool ‘ku! (Groan…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

