Image

Pretty poppy…

‘I perhaps owe having become a painter to flowers’ ~ Claude Monet

Poppies always remind me of Monet, I’ve always loved his painting ‘Poppies’ (1873) – I had a print of it on my bedroom wall when I was growing up, but sadly it eventually became dog-eared and faded and fell out of favour somewhere along the line. But when we saw the original at the Musee d’Orsay in Paris a few years ago it looked so vibrant and fresh I promptly fell in love with it all over again…

Poppy flowerThis particularly pretty poppy is growing strong and proud in a crack in the pavement in Wanstead, East London – I walked passed it on my way home from work today, and my smartphone camera captured it for posterity 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Pretty poppy…

Leave a Reply

